Weapons Carry Licenses

Licenses and Certificates

Weapons Carry Licenses

Weapons Carry Licenses

REMINDER: Face masks are required for entry into the Fulton County Courthouse.

The following information is provided regarding Probate Court services effective July 1, 2020.

All Probate Court offices (Downtown, North Service Center and South Service Center) have resumed normal office hours (8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.).

All locations will resume the acceptance of Weapons Carry License Applications and Applications for Renewal of Weapons Carry Licenses on July 1, 2020. Be advised that the Court expects to receive a large number of applications over the next several months and there may be a significant delay in service at each of the locations. You may wish to complete your application before coming to the Probate Court.

Click here for the Application which can be filled out online and printed out OR printed out as a blank document and completed in ink. This Application is used for both initial applications and renewal applications. DO NOT sign the Application until you file it with the Court. You may also complete your Application after you arrive at the Court.

The Probate Court accepts Applications during the following hours: Main Probate Court office (downtown) – 8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.; North Service Center – 8:30 a.m. – 4 p.m.; South Service Center 8:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

FINGERPRINTING. Fulton County Police Department, Alpharetta Police Department, and Sandy Springs Police Department will be fingerprinting on July 1, 2020. Fulton County Police Department will fingerprint any resident of Fulton County. Alpharetta Police Department will only fingerprint residents of Alpharetta. Sandy Springs Police Department will only fingerprint residents of Sandy Springs. City of South Fulton will not begin fingerprinting until August 31, 2020, or later.

RENEWALS.
Based on an Executive Order signed by Governor Kemp on May 8, 2020 anyone who has a Weapons Carry License that expired between February 13, 2020, and June 12, 2020, must apply for renewal within 120 days after the expiration date on the face of the license.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Under Georgia law, the Probate Court of Fulton County issues Weapons Carry Licenses.  This is a four-step process. Read more below.

Step 1: Where to go to apply

You must appear in person at a location of the Fulton County Probate Court to submit your application and have your picture taken for your license. You must be domiciled (primary residence) in Fulton County. If you are not a domiciliary of Fulton County, you must be on active military duty and either stationed at a military location in Fulton County or residing in Fulton County and stationed at a military location outside Fulton County.

You must be 21 years of age or older or at least 18 and have proof that you have completed basic training in the U. S. Armed Forces and that you are currently on active duty in the U. S. Armed Forces or that you have been honorably discharged from the U. S. Armed Forces.

You can apply for a weapons carry license at any one of the three Probate Court locations:
Fulton County Probate Court, 136 Pryor Street, Suite C-230, Atlanta, Georgia 30303; 404-613-4583 or 404-612-4640 
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
North Service Center, 7741 Roswell Road, Suite 219, Atlanta, Georgia 30350; 404-613-7638
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.
South Service Center, 5600 Stonewall Tell Road, Suite 218, College Park, Georgia 30349; 404-612-3048
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. 

Step 2: What to bring

Proof of Residence

Applicants must furnish proof of Fulton County residence on a photo ID such as a valid Georgia Driver's License, a State of Georgia ID Card or Military ID and orders showing that you are stationed in Fulton County or a contiguous county. If you are a Non-US citizen you must furnish a Resident Alien ID card or other proof of lawful admission as a permanent resident in the United States.

Payment

The fee for a weapons carry license is $71. The Court accepts cash, money orders (in exact amount) and credit cards. No bills larger than $20 are accepted for cash transactions. Once an application has been submitted for processing the Court will not issue any refunds. There is a separate fee at the police department for fingerprinting.

Step 3: Where is fingerprinting done

At the time of application, you will receive a Law Enforcement Affidavit from the Court to take to the Police Department where your fingerprints will be taken. You must be fingerprinted within five (5) days of receipt of the Law Enforcement Affidavit.

Fingerprinting is done at the following locations:

Fulton County Police Department (FOR APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED AT THE MAIN PROBATE COURT OFFICE DOWNTOWN), 141 Pryor Street, (located on the 4th floor of the Fulton County Government Center), Atlanta, Georgia 30303; 404-613-5700; Monday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.; Fingerprinting fee $5    

Alpharetta Police Department (FOR ALPHARETTA RESIDENTS ONLY), 2565 Old Milton Parkway, Alpharetta, Georgia, 30009; 678-297-6300. Finger printing is done by appointment only. Fingerprinting fee $10. To Schedule an appointment please go to Alpharetta Department of Public Safety website

Sandy Springs Police Department (FOR SANDY SPRINGS RESIDENTS ONLY) 7840 Roswell Road, Building 301, Sandy Springs, Georgia, 30350; 770-551-6900; Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.; Fingerprinting fee $10 (cash, debit cards, and most credit cards - no money orders or checks).    

City of South Fulton Police Department (FOR APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED AT THE SOUTH SERVICE CENTER), 5539 Old National Highway, College Park, Georgia, 30349; 470-809-7320; Monday- Friday 9 a.m. - 2 p.m.; Fingerprinting fee is $5 cash.

Step 4: Additional Information

At the time of application you must advise the court staff whether you want your license mailed to the address appearing on the license or whether you will pick your license up at the Downtown Office of the Probate Court.

For more information you can call 404-613-4583.

Weapons Carry license

frequently asked questions

How old do I have to be to apply for a weapons carry license?

You must be 21 years of age or older or at least 18 and have proof that you have completed  basic training in the U. S. Armed Forces and are currently on active duty in the U. S. Armed Forces, or that you have been honorably discharged from the U. S. Armed Forces.

 


How much does it cost to apply for a weapons carry license?

 

First-time Applicants: $71.00 - cash/credit card/money order - exact amount.  There will also be an additional fee at the police department for fingerprinting.

 


What do I need to bring with me when I apply for a weapons carry license?

Applicants must furnish proof of Fulton County residency on a photo ID such as a valid Georgia Driver's License, a State of Georgia ID Card or a Military ID, and orders showing that you are stationed in Fulton County or a contiguous county.    If you are a Non-US citizen, you must furnish a Resident Alien ID card or other proof of lawful admission as a permanent resident in the USA.     


Weapons carry license

application locations

Fulton county probate court

Hours: 8:30 a.m. -3:30 p.m.

north Fulton    service center

Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.

south Fulton     service center

Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 1 p.m.

weapons carry License

Fingerprint locations

FULTON COUNTY POLICE DEPARTMENT

FOR APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED AT DOWNTOWN PROBATE COURT OFFICE. Fee: $5 Mon-Fri 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Alpharetta police department

FOR APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED AT THE NORTH SERVICE CENTER. Fee: $10. By appointment only

sandy springs police department

FOR APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED AT THE NORTH SERVICE CENTER. Fee $10. Mon-Fri 8 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

CITY OF SOUTH FULTON POLICE DEPARTMENT

FOR APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED AT THE SOUTH SERVICE CENTER, Fee: $5. Mon-Fri 9 a.m. - 2 p.m.