LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Board Established by: State

Description:

On May 17, 2004, Senate Bill 231 was passed by the State Legislature and signed by the Governor, and this Bill changed the makeup of the Library System Board of Trustees. It dissolved the 17 member Library Board and created an eleven (11) member Library Board. This Board oversees matters related to the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library.

The Library Board of Trustees was established by a Resolution of the Board of Commissioners on July 1, 1984, item #55, and at the Regular Meeting of June 1, 1988. Georgia House Bill #1780 established procedures for reappointments and expanded the Board from fourteen (14) positions to sixteen (16) positions. Georgia House Bill #799 expanded the Board from sixteen (16) positions to seventeen (17) positions. At the January 22, 1997 Board of Commissioners Meeting (Item #97-0139), the Board approved a \$50 per diem for Library Board of Trustees members per attendance at Regular meetings only. On January 1, 1998, House Bill #606 established that one of the five (5) Board of Commissioners appointees shall be a resident of unincorporated north Fulton County (Item #96-1140).

On May 12, 2015, Georgia House Bill #595 amended the Act for establishing a county-wide library system as follows: the Library Board of Trustees shall consist of eight (8) members. The mayor of the City of Atlanta shall appoint one member to serve on the Board of Trustees as an ex officio, nonvoting member. There shall be seven (7) Fulton County appointed members, with one such member appointed by each member of the Board of Commissioners. The appointees shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing member of the Board of Commissioners and for the same term as the Commissioner making such appointment.

Membership/Appointment:

On or after July 1, 2015, membership/appointment consists of eight (8) members. One (1) member will be an ex officio, nonvoting member, appointed by the Mayor of the City of Atlanta. Seven (7) members shall be Fulton County appointed members, with one such member appointed by each member of the Board of Commissioners.

- 1) The Mayor of Atlanta's Appointee (ex officio, nonvoting member)
- 2) District 1
- 3) District 2
- 4) District 3
- 5) District 4
- 6) District 5
- 7) District 6
- 8) District 7 At-Large

Term:

Pursuant to the passage of House Bill 595, the Library Board of Trustees shall consist of eight (8) members. The Mayor of the City of Atlanta shall appoint one member to serve on the board of trustees as an ex officio, nonvoting member. There shall be seven Fulton County appointed members, with one such member appointed by each member of the Board of Commissioners. The appointees shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing member of the Board of Commissioners and for the same term as the Commissioner making such appointment.

Compensation: YES Stipend: \$50/meeting

Meetings: Fourth (4) Wednesday of the month. Third (3) Wednesday of the month in November and

December.

Contact(s): Gayle Holloman, Director

Fulton County Library System One Margaret Mitchell Square, NW

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

404-759-9653

Gayle.Holloman@fultoncountyga.gov

Zenobia Claxton Administrative Coordinator II Fulton County Library System Auburn Avenue Research Library On African American Culture 101 Auburn Avenue Atlanta, GA 30303 404-612-3189 zenobia.claxton@fultoncountyga.gov

^{***}The appointees listed below represent the Fulton County appointed members ONLY***

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Ms. Priscilla Borders	District 4 Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	12/31/2024
2	Ms. Linda Jordan	At-Large Nominated By: Chairman Robb Pitts	12/31/2022
3	Mr. Darren "Chip" R. Joyner	District 5 Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington, Jr.	12/31/2022
4	Mr. Paul Kaplan	District 2 Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2024
5	Ms. Marjorie L Kimbrough	District 6 Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	12/31/2024
6	Mr. Joseph Piontek	District 1 Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2022
7	Ms. Nina Radakovich	District 3 Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2022