FULTON COUNTY ARTS COUNCIL

Board Established by: County

Description:

This Board was established by a Resolution of the Board of Commissioners on October 17, 1979 (Item #9), to oversee the County's arts program. The primary function of the Council is to advise the Board in the area of the arts, to oversee generally the needs of the arts in the County and to review and channel art programs and contracts. The Council is to submit an art plan for each calendar year which will include 1) a definition of needs; 2) a solution of these needs; 3) a request for support of programs by specific contracts which would include: a) contracts with larger organizations for annual programs; b) contracts with smaller organizations for semi-annual programs. The Council shall give priority to programs which will introduce the arts to new audiences, and will insure that the enjoyment of the arts is available to all citizens of the County and most especially children, the elderly, the handicapped, and those citizens who, because of economic or other circumstances, have not had ready and regular access to the arts.

Membership/Appointment:

Pursuant to Resolution #15-0109, adopted by the Board of Commissioners on February 4, 2015, the appointment process for the Fulton County Arts Council consists of the following amendments to Item 9 of the Resolution creating the Arts Council, adopted on October 17, 1979, as codified in the Fulton County Code Sections 126-46 and 126-47:

- 1) The Arts Council shall be composed of fifteen (15) residents of the County.
- 2) Initially, each member of the board of commissioners shall appoint two persons to serve on the council, one person to serve for a one-year term and one person to serve for a two-year term. No term of any member shall extend beyond the term of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Arts Council Board; thereafter, each year, each member of the Board of Commissioners shall appoint one member for a two-year term. Each member may continue to serve beyond his/her term until replaced.
- 3) The chairman of the arts council shall be appointed to a two-year term by a majority vote of the board of commissioners.
- 4) The council shall elect a vice-chairman and a secretary from its membership.

Term:

After the initial staggered terms, each member of the Board of Commissioners shall appoint one member for a two-year term. No term of any member shall extend beyond the term of the District Commissioner who appointed the member to serve on the Arts Council Board.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: Second Thursday Every Other Month

Contact(s): David Manuel, Director

Arts & Culture 141 Pryor Street, SW Suite #2030

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

404-612-5783

david.manuel@fultoncountyga.gov

MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1 Robinson Y Angela	District 5-b Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington	12/31/2024

2	Ms. Linda Bain	District 2-b Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2024
3	Mr. Joseph Bankoff	BOC/Chair Nominated By: Full Board Appointments	12/31/2020
4	Mr. Mark Boyd	District 4-b Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	12/31/2020
5	Mr. W. Imara Canady	District 5-a Nominated By: Commissioner Marvin S. Arrington, Jr.	12/31/2023
6	Ms. Joan Compton	District 1-a Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2022
7	Nikki D Crump	District 7-b Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2024
8	Mrs. Sandra DeShields-Hightower	District 6-b Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	12/31/2024
9	Ms. Catherine Fox	District 3-b Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2022
10	Mr. Onaje Henderson	District 4-a Nominated By: Commissioner Natalie Hall	12/31/2022
11	Kenny Kurtz	District 2-a Nominated By: Commissioner Bob Ellis	12/31/2024
12	Ms. Pamela Smith	District 7-a Nominated By: Chairman Robb Pitts	12/31/2023
13	Ms. Sadie Talmadge	District 3-a Nominated By: Commissioner Lee Morris	12/31/2022
14	Mr. Brandon A. Tonge	District 6-a Nominated By: Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	12/31/2024
15	Ms. Marie Willsey	District 1-b Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2022