ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE OF THE FULTON COUNTY DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN

Board Established by: County

Description:

Fulton County established the Fulton County Defined Contribution Plan (the "DC Plan") effective July 1, 1999 (#99-0857/6-16-99), which DC Plan provides certain retirement benefits for Fulton County officers and employees; and the existing DC Plan (Article IX, Section 9.1) provided that the DC Plan Administrative Committee shall consist of not less than three (3) members who were appointed by and served at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners, with the initial Administrative Committee to be comprised of the Chairman of the Fulton County Board of Commissioners or his designee, the Fulton County Finance Director, and the Fulton County Manager.

On January 5, 2022 the Fulton County Board of Commissioners adopted a Resolution (#22-0005) changing the composition of Positions 6, 7, and 8 of the DC Plan Administrative Committee to allow Position 7 to be either an active or former employee of the County.

At the July 10, 2024 First Regular Meeting, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners adopted an Ordinance (#24-0488) amending Chapter 101 (General Provisions and County Governing Authority), Article 2 (County Governing Authority), Division I (Generally), to create a new Section 101-76 of the Fulton County Code of Laws to provide procedures for District and Full Board appointments to the Boards, Commissions, Taskforces, Committees, Councils and Authorities affiliated with, or operating on behalf of Fulton County, Georgia, to provide that all appointees serve at the pleasure of either the nominating Commissioner for District appointments or the Board of Commissioners for Full Board appointments.

Membership/Appointment:

Membership to this committee is as follows: Chairman of the Fulton County BOC or his/her designee (Position 1); two (2) members of the Fulton County Board of Commissioners other than the Chairman, who shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners (Positions 2 & 3); County Manager or his/her designee (Position 4); Finance Director (Position 5); two (2) active employees of Fulton County (Positions 6 & 8); one (1) active or former employee of Fulton County (Position 7) and a member of the public who is a resident and taxpayer of Fulton County and not an active or retired public employee or the holder of any public office (Position 9).

HISTORIC INFORMATION:

The BOC shall appoint initial holders of Positions 2 & 3 as soon as practical following adoption of this resolution, and those initial holders shall serve until the January 2009 regular meeting of the BOC or until their successors are appointed by the BOC. The members holding positions 4 & 5 shall continue to serve as long as they hold the applicable office. Members serving in Positions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 shall prepare a list of one or more individuals meeting the qualifications for Positions 6, 7, 8, and 9 and shall present that list to the BOC. The BOC shall appoint the initial holder of Position 6 for an initial term ending 12/31/08; the initial holder of Position 7 for an initial term ending 12/31/09; the initial holder of Position 8 for an initial term ending 12/31/10; and the initial holder of Position 9 for an initial term ending 12/31/11. No person holding Positions 6, 7, or 8 shall be disqualified from holding said position by reason of not being an active participant in the DC Plan until such time as that person's employment with Fulton County shall be finally terminated and all legal appeals from such termination shall have been exhausted or the time for making such appeals shall have expired. If any vacancy shall occur in Positions 6, 7, 8, or 9 by reason of the death, resignation, or disqualification of any individual holding any such position, then the remaining members of the Administrative Committee shall prepare a list of one or more individuals meeting the qualifications for that position and shall present that list to the Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners shall then appoint an individual from that list to serve the balance of the unexpired term.

Term:

Members of the Administrative Committee shall hold office for a term of four (4) years or until their successors have been duly qualified and appointed. Positions 2 & 3 shall be appointed by the BOC at its regular January meeting or as soon as practical. Such members shall hold office for a term of one year.

Compensation: NONE Stipend:

Meetings: Quarterly

Contact(s): Ryan Avery, Pension Administrator

Department of Finance 141 Pryor Street, 7th Floor Atlanta, GA 30303

Atlanta, GA 3030 404-612-7672

ryan.avery@fultoncountyga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	Position 1 (Chair/Designee) Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2028
2	Dick Anderson	Position 4 (County Manager) Nominated By:	
3	Don May	Position 8 (Employee) Nominated By: Commissioner Liz Hausmann	12/31/2022
4	Gina Rude	Position 9 (Resident) Nominated By:	12/31/2025
5	Jaunius Simokaitis	Position 6 (Employee) Nominated By: Full Board Appointments	12/31/2024
6	Commissioner Bridget Thorne	Position 2 (Commissioner) Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2025
7	Dr. Kim Turner	Position 7 (Retiree/Peace Officer) Nominated By:	12/31/2025
8	Sharon Whitmore	Position 5 (Chief Financial Officer) Nominated By:	