BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE FULTON COUNTY EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM

Board Established by: State

Description:

On October 7, 2015 the Board of Commissioners adopoted a resoultion #15-0864 amending the Fulton County Employees Retirement System to Increase the number of retirees elected to the Board of Trustees, to designate the Fulton County Chief Financial Officer as a member of the Board of Trustees and for deletions of outdated provisions. On June 4, 2008 the Board of Commissioners adopted a Resolution (#08-0507) increasing the membership of this Board from 11 to 12 members. At the Finance Meeting of September 11, 1991, Item #91-RM-352, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners adopted a Resolution creating the Fulton County Employees Retirement System. This Resolution established the Fulton County Retirement Board and consolidated the former Public Safety Employees Pension Plan, the Judges and Solicitors Pension Plan, the Employees Pension Plan, and the General Employees Pension Plan into a single pension system for all employees of Fulton County. The purpose of this board is to oversee all matters relating to the management and payment of pension and retirement benefits to all eligible Fulton County employees.

At the July 10, 2024 First Regular Meeting, the Fulton County Board of Commissioners adopted an Ordinance (#24-0488) amending Chapter 101 (General Provisions and County Governing Authority), Article 2 (County Governing Authority), Division I (Generally), to create a new Section 101-76 of the Fulton County Code of Laws to provide procedures for District and Full Board appointments to the Boards, Commissions, Taskforces, Committees, Councils and Authorities affiliated with, or operating on behalf of Fulton County, Georgia, to provide that all appointees serve at the pleasure of either the nominating Commissioner for District appointments or the Board of Commissioners for Full Board appointments.

Membership/Appointment:

There shall be eleven members of the Board of Trustees:

- (1). The Chairman of the Board of Commissioners of Fulton County or a member of the Board of Commissioners designated by the Chairman to serve in his stead (Trustee Position 1); (2). Two members of the Board of Commissioners other than the Chairman or his designee who shall be elected by the members of the Board of Commissioners (Trustee Position 2 and 3); (3). The County Manager of Fulton County or an individual designated by the County Manager to serve in his stead (Trustee Position 4); (4). Chief Financial Officer of Fulton County (Trustee Position 5) who shall also serve as ex-officio Executive Secretary and Treasurer of the Board of Trustees, dispensing all funds in the Trust, and as custodian of the Plan. There shall be eleven members of the Board of Trustees:
- (5). Three persons receiving a retirement benefit from the Employer (Trustee Position 6, 9 and 10); (6). Two (2) active employees of the Employer who are Participants in the Plan or participants in a Prior Plan (Trustees Positions 7 and 8). The individual holding Trustee Position 7 shall be a Peace Officer.
- (7). Member of the public who shall be a resident and taxpayer of Fulton County and not an active or retired public employee or the holder of any public office (Trustees "elections"11).

Term:

Except as provided below, members of the Board of Trustees shall hold office for a term of four (4) years or until their successors have been duly elected and qualified: Trustee Positon 2 and 3 shall be filled at a regular January meeting of the Board of Commissioners for (1) year or until their successors have been elected and qualified. Trustees Position 4 and 5 shall continue to serve so long as they hold the applicable office. Trustee Position 6, 9, and 10 shall be filled by election by all persons receiving a pension benefit from employer. Trustee 11 shall be filled by election by other Trustees. Trustees 7 and 8 shall be elected by all active participants in the plan and prior plans.

Board of Trustees shall hold office for a term of four (4) years or until their successors have been duly elected and qualified:

Compensation: YES Stipend: \$100 non-employee/\$25 retirees

Meetings: Second Wednesday of the month at 1:30 p.m. 7th Floor Conference Room of the Fulton County

Government Center.

Contact(s): Ryan Avery, Pension Administrator

Finance

141 Pryor Street, SW, 7th Floor

Atlanta, GA 30303 404-612-7672

ryan.avery@fultoncountyga.gov

	MEMBER	APPOINTMENT	TERM ENDING
1	Commissioner Khadijah Abdur-Rahman	Trustee #2 BOC Commissioner Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2025
2	Dick Anderson	Trustee #4 County Manager Nominated By:	
3	Commissioner Dana Barrett	Trustee #1 BOC Chair/Designee Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2025
4	Vice Chairman Bob Ellis	Trustee #3 BOC Commissioner Nominated By: Chairman Robert L. Pitts	12/31/2025
5	John McCarthy	Trustee #11 Trustees election Nominated By:	6/30/2027
6	Wanda Messina	Trustee #10 FC Retiree Nominated By:	6/30/2022
7	Edward "Skip" Platt	Trustee #6 Retiree Nominated By:	6/30/2024
8	Andrew Stephens	Trustee #8 Active employee elections Nominated By:	6/30/2025
9	Gary D. Stiles	Trustee #7 Retiree/Peace Officer Nominated By:	6/30/2022
10	Sharon Whitmore	Trustee #5 Chief Financial Officer Nominated By:	